Poet-tree

On Friday I had a couple of hours before meeting Andy for a meal and decided to go for a walk instead of venturing home first. It was good to take shade by the river and the setting immediately gave me the head space I needed. As I rested a while beside a sturdy tree, I penned the following number.

Lullaby

Give me a moment’s peace

Against the stoic trunk

All interruptions cease

Whilst I shed mental junk

Give me a moment’s pause

Beside the nettled slope

For sometimes I withdraw

inside my world, to cope

Please just a fleeting breather

Held by the river’s shade

For I’m a firm believer

That healing’s not man-made

Soon I will find new lease

My inner pace will calm

Give me a moment’s peace

To rock in nature’s arms

9 thoughts on “Poet-tree

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.