Imagine

Imagining and dreaming are food for the soul as far as I am concerned. I am often inspired to write when I am out in nature but I am increasingly finding that I also love to write about imaginary places and experiences. A recent reader has even encouraged me to turn some of these imaginary place poems into visualisations for my coaching clients. I got the idea for today’s poem whilst sitting in a giant yellow rubber ring floating around the outdoor pool in Aesch last weekend. Some might say that I’m a dreamer but I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one! (I couldn‘t resist a little Beatles quote -forgive me! āœŒļøļø)


Freedom Falls

The air is clear like polished glass

The sunny warm air breezes

I’m back at Freedom Falls again

Their whooshing soundtrack teases

Within no time I’m floating round

Old record gently turning

The rapids pushing me around

Go with the flow, I’m learning

And soon the movement changes form

My raft begins free falling

The water force, electric storm

Shouts freedom is your calling

I’m tossed downstream dramatically

Exhilarating, swirling

Adventure’s call ecstatically

Sprays my face as I’m spinning

White waters smack against my arms

The current’s strength is winning

I paddle through the chilling falls

Loud floods of burning ice

No time to second guess at all

My fate – a rolling dice

Disoriented, scrabbling

Yet safe upon my raft

As I turn out of Freedom Falls

I hear its echoed laugh

You take the plunge, you pay the price

Transforming takes your force

And Freedom Falls, it hears your calls

Your soul knows it’s own course

14 thoughts on “Imagine

  1. I immediately recognized John Lennon in the image. Day-dreaming is a lot like watching a movie and placing your mind inside that movie and becoming spellbound. To imagine is a gift – that brings us joy and soothes the soul. I often imagine myself somewhere in nature, enjoying a beautiful waterfall or watching deer silently glide through a forest meadow (such peace) Ah – thanks for making me take a moment to imagine. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To us imagination is the wellspring of the future. Just consider this, people 50 years ago dreamt of speaking into portable little boxes across vast distances – even space. Today its called the mobile phone. Without dreams and ideas, who knows what would we have today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed your last few posts so much! šŸ˜ Also, the images you have for the poems are such a great fit. šŸ™‚ (I’ve been compared to a flower child; my style has been reflecting that a lot lately. šŸ˜‚)

    You’re definitely not the only one! šŸ˜‰ I’m a dreamer too; my imagination has been accused of being overly active. XD My imagination keeps getting lost in your poems. ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. šŸ˜€

        Yes, I am! I just wrote and posted a poem about a house built on a turtle’s shell. My imagination and creativity went a little crazy today, and it was so fun! I hope you are having a wonderful day filled with imagination and creativity as well! ā™„

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

