The Ripple Effect

Yesterday I read a post about peace, by Eddie Two Hawks (link below poem) which connected me to a poem which I wrote last year about Dad and which in turn led me to write the following poem. A kind of ripple effect if you like! Just before sharing the poem with my partner Andy, it dawned on me that this could be a good poem to turn into an Irish style folk song.  One minute a later I received an email from Andy suggesting that I should put this poem to music!  I set to work and recorded a simple tune into my voice recorder (I don’t read or write music) and wrote a chorus, pleased that I had seized then moment and got the ball rolling. The ripples didn’t stop there, as I bumped into a neighbour who had encouraged me to turn my poems into songs on the way home and we now intend to set up a date for this. Sometimes you have to let things ripple!
Ripples of Peace

Your words were like tea on a cold winter’s day

Your wisdom and kindness just blew me away

Although you are gone, your enlightenment stays

Left ripples of peace in my heart
Your actions they rescued us time and again

Washed away sorrows like warm monsoon rain

Lover of life, you did not deserve pain

Left ripples of peace in my heart
Valued so highly by all that you knew

Your body decayed, but your pure spirit flew

Gleaming and clear as the fresh morning dew

Constant ripples of peace in my heart
Eddie’s post :

https://eddietwohawks.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/plant-the-seeds/

15 thoughts on “The Ripple Effect

  1. I love reading poetry to end the day and to start the day, so in this case I got the best 10 minutes of yesterday and the best 10 minutes of today. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for these 20 minutes. I had a great time, and I’ll be back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

