Waves 

If there is one thing that grief has taught me over the last year it is that emotions do pass, however intense and all encompassing that they might feel at the time.  Many people describe their grief as coming over them in ‘waves’ and I can also really relate to this. However fierce the waves are, at some point they do leave the shore and float back out to sea.
Waves

Sometimes they drift in with no sign

My eyes they sting with salty brine

And sometimes they float over me

And cleanse me of uncertainty

Sometimes they crash onto my shore

And almost knock me to the floor

Their force and magnitude so strong

My soul is simply swept along

Sometimes they lap onto the sand

I walk beside them, hand in hand

But then one sneaks up from behind

I feel I’m drowning in my mind

The timing of these waves is strange

They always make me grow and change

As they wash in I understand

We are but tiny grains of sand

Upon a universal beach

I’m open to what my waves teach

32 thoughts on “Waves 

  1. Wow! Your words are very poignant and beautiful. I especially love the part about the universal beach….puts it all in perspective. I have gone through loss the past 3 years and could so relate to your words.
    Thanks again for stopping by my blog. It gave me a chance to discover your amazing blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your feedback. I think people need to talk about and express their grief more. It’s all part of life and yet so many people grieve alone. Have just been telling my boyfriend about your yummy recipes 🙂

      Like

    2. Thanks so much it is incredibly motivating to get this feedback. I think we need to talk more openly about grief and loss. Too many people deal with it on their own. Have just been telling my boyfriend about your yummy recipes!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Opening one’s mind to learn the lessons learned from those waves, is the best part of life.. I really loved those lines as well as the way you described the theme..
    It is an interesting blog title..Here , in India there is some traditional dance form like peacock dance .. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

