Parcel Force

You have got to admire the Swiss eye for detail and precision. When I first moved to Switzerland I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw the perfectly parcelled newspaper recycled bundles left,  as punctually as a cuckoo clock, outside people’s front doors on recycling day. I couldn’t believe that people were spending their precious time organising used paper in this meticulous manner! The truth be told, it made me feel quite inadequate. I hadn’t even worked out the Dornach recycling calendar let alone thought of creating picture perfect paper bundles! Over time I have come to regard these immaculate piles with fondness. The patience and care involved in their formation are qualities which many other nations, my own included, could learn a lot from. Maybe one day I will try my hand? Then again, used Coop bags do quite a good job…

Bundles of Love

At first I thought you were quite odd
All wrapped up sitting there
Who had the time to wrap that wad?
How could you be that square?

But as the swiss years have ticked by
In judgement I don’t stare
And please just between you and I
I’m jealous of the care

these perfect, neat, packed paper sheets
tied with their matching strings
receive before they greet the streets
A treatment fit for Kings!

The expertise of stacks like these!
Each bundle formed precisely
My clumsiness like chalk and cheese
They do recycling nicely

Each time I pass, it’s their last laugh
That echoes whilst I’m smarting
I wish this patience, I had half
Perhaps it’s time for starting!

3 thoughts on “Parcel Force

  1. Thanks for the laugh. But of course it is all part of being Swiss. I will have to take a photo of my bundles to show you how nice they are. Yesterday we had the collection for bulky goods in Solothurn and they left our old kitchen chairs and did not take them as they had metal parts and it was not sure if they belonged in the metal collection or the normal rubbish.. They are probably still investigating the problem. I hope we do not get reported as garbage sinners.
    Yes life in Switzerland can be complicated but you will get there eventually, although after 50 years as an ex Brit I gets surprises every day. By the way we also have a Solothurn recycling calendar pinned to the kitchen with instructions how to throw your garbage away.

    Like

  2. You can always tell if an ex-pat lives there . . . . Recycled paper in a paper Coop bag! So funny. I thought the same when we first arrived in Switzerland!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.